| Forums | Sign Up | Reply | Search | Statistics | Home Page |
Online now: Guests - 1
Members - 0
Most users ever online: 4 [5 Mar 2021 17:43]
Guests - 4 / Members - 0
E-Machine Programming Mazatrol integrexmachinist.com community built on miniBB / E-Machine Programming Mazatrol /

Face milling on E500HS HELP ME

Load Dog
Forums Member
#1 | Posted: 2 Feb 2010 09:44
Hello to all
I am new to mazatrol programming on the 500mt. I am programming a 2.155" wide face groove 2" deep. The major dia is 9.31" and the minor dia is 5". I have programmed it with an end mill to helical mill in c-axis. The problem arrises when the tool does its positioning before it starts on the programmed path. I end up with 2 half moon in the part where I don't want them. I can't seem to get an answer from mazak. I would think a parameter would control this. Anyone have experiance with this.

Load Dog
Stuart
Forums Member
#2 | Posted: 2 Feb 2010 18:49
What did you use for start and end in the unit? Open or closed? if it's open the tool will lead in from the side and give the half moon. If you autoset the approach point and use open, then change your mind and choose close, it will still use the original approach point that it computed. You might need to reselect the autoset for the approach point, or define a point that will not gouge.
Steve Manthey
Forums Member
#3 | Posted: 2 Feb 2010 21:30
Stuart
Good point to remember for new users...re-selecting autoset is VERY important if you change your toolpath points in your program. That one has gotten me several times and I finally have it driven into my thick skull to remember that!
Rodzilla
Forums Member
#4 | Posted: 2 Feb 2010 22:12
also in TPC you can control the size of the lead in and out , and if you decide to change this then like they said above you will need to re select the autoset for the approach point....
Load Dog
Forums Member
#5 | Posted: 3 Feb 2010 14:44
Hello Rodzilla